Awards of Excellent Logo
October 12, 2011

The Representative for Children and Youth’s fourth annual awards recognize and encourage excellence in British Columbia’s child- and youth-serving systems. Individuals and organizations whose work contributes to improving the lives of children and youth in B.C. are honoured and acknowledged.

Backgrounder: Recipients


The nominee for Advocacy is a tireless supporter that speaks for children, youth and their families, and advocates for positive change. The nominee is a champion in ensuring the voice and views of young people are heard and their rights and interests are upheld.

Congratulations award winner, Dawn Johnson.


Photo: Award presenter Maureen Young from Coast Capital Savings (L) and award winner, Dawn Johnson, Youth Engagement Coordinator, MCFD (R).
Watch the video

Cultural Heritage and Diversity

The nominee for the Cultural Heritage and Diversity Award is an organization that recognizes, supports and builds on a unique sense of place, culture, language and community while preparing a better path for children.
Congratulations award winner, Diana Elliot and the staff from Aboriginal Infant Development Programs of B.C. (AIDP)


Photo: Award presenter Andrew Petter, Simon Fraser University, (L) award winner Diana Elliot and the staff from Aboriginal Infant Development Programs of B.C. (AIDP) (C) and the Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond (R).
Watch the video

Innovative Services

The nominee for the Innovative Services is an organization that delivers services in a new, innovative and effective manner. The organization is administering a program that leads to better and more beneficial program outcomes and is a model of professional excellence.

Congratulations award winners, The Ministry of Children and Family Development (MCFD) and the Burnaby Board of Education.


Photo: Reno Ciolfi, Director Burnaby Board of Education and staff (L), Anita McDonnell, Director Youth Custody Services and staff (C), Honourable Mary McNeil award presenter (R), and Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond (R).
Watch the video

Youth Leadership

The nominees for Youth Leadership are individuals between 12 and 24 years of age, whose leadership and innovation has made a positive contribution to the youth community, who has set and reached personal goals and who has contributed time and energy to benefiting or improving their community.

Congratulations award winners Samantha Claver and Lilia Zaharieva.


Photo: Representative, Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond (L), Lilia Zaharieva (LC), Samantha Claver (RC), Dr. Hedy Fry award presenter (R).
Watch Samantha’s award video
Lilia’s award video

Service Provision

The nominee for Service Provision is an organization that demonstrates exceptional commitment, creativity and dedication in work that makes a difference in the lives of children, youth and their families.
Congratulations award winner, The Mary Manning Centre.


Photo: Staff from the Mary Manning Centre, Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond and award presenter Mark Gifford.
Watch the video


The nominee for Mentoring is an individual who has provided guidance and support to youth through a long-term, consistent commitment to them. This individual is a trusted, adult friend who has provided a mix of support and challenge by involving youth in their community and enriching their lives at the same time.

Congratulations award winner Constable Richard Lavallee.


Photo: Award winner Richard Lavallee, award presenter Police Chief Jim Chu and the Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond. To learn more about Richard's contributions to the child- and youth- serving systems, please click here.
Watch the video

Lifetime Achievement

Lifetime Achievement is awarded to a seasoned individual who has made significant and lasting positive change in the lives of vulnerable children and youth in B.C.. This individual is dedicated to raising public awareness around issues that affect vulnerable children and youth, and is both advocate and leader-- a true Champion for Children and Youth.

Congratulations award winner Tracy Porteous.


Photo: Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, staff from the Ending Violence Association and award winner Tracy Porteous.
Watch the video