Awards of Excellent Logo
October 12, 2012

The Representative for Children and Youth’s annual awards recognize and encourage excellence in British Columbia’s child- and youth-serving systems. Individuals and organizations whose work contributes to improving the lives of children and youth in B.C. are honoured and acknowledged.

Backgrounder: Recipients


The nominee for Advocacy is a tireless supporter that speaks for children, youth and their families, and advocates for positive change. The nominee is a champion in ensuring the voice and views of young people are heard and their rights and interests are upheld.

Congratulations award winner, Andrea Vollans.


Photo from the left: Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond; award winner, Andrea Vollans, YWCA, Vancouver; and award presenter Tracy Porteous Executive Director, Ending Violence Association of B.C.
Watch the video

Cultural Heritage and Diversity

The nominee for the Cultural Heritage and Diversity Award is an organization that recognizes, supports and builds on a unique sense of place, culture, language and community while preparing a better path for children.
Congratulations award winners, Burnaby Public Library and First Peoples' Cultural Council.


Photo from the left: award presenter Lilia Zaharieva 2011 Youth Leadership award recipient, Community Volunteer and Youth Participation Consultant; award winner Sharon G. Freeman, Chair of the Burnaby Public Library Board; Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond; and Tracey Herbert, Executive Director, First Peoples’ Cultural Council.

Watch Burnaby award video
Watch First Peoples’ award video

Innovative Services

The nominee for the Innovative Services is an organization that delivers services in a new, innovative and effective manner. The organization is administering a program that leads to better and more beneficial program outcomes and is a model of professional excellence.

Congratulations award winners, the Urban Youth Program


Photo from the left: Chad Loewen, Pacific Community Resource Society; award presenter Mark Gifford, Director, Grants and Community Initiatives, Vancouver Foundation; Stephanie Gillingham, Inner City Youth Mental Health Team; Christine Budnick, Covenant House; Michelle Apps, Coast Mental Health Society; Brian Gustavson, Broadway Youth Resource Centre; Barry Doucette, Ministry of Social Development and Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond.

Watch the video

Youth Leadership

The nominees for Youth Leadership are individuals between 12 and 24 years of age, whose leadership and innovation has made a positive contribution to the youth community, who has set and reached personal goals and who has contributed time and energy to benefiting or improving their community.

Congratulations award winners Ashley Frerichs, Jessica Horrocks and Jordan Arcand.


Photo from the left: award presenter Helen Hughes, Community Volunteer, former City Councillor, Champion for Youth; award recipients Ashley Frerichs, Tracey Horrocks (Jessica's mom) and Jordan Arcand; and Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond.

Watch Jordan’s award video
Watch Ashley’s award video
Watch Jessica’s award video

Service Provision

The nominee for Service Provision is an organization that demonstrates exceptional commitment, creativity and dedication in work that makes a difference in the lives of children, youth and their families.

Congratulations award winner, Mitchel du Plessis


Photo from the left: Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond; award winner Mitchel du Plessis; and award presenter Jin-Sun Yoon, Faculty, School of Child and Youth Care, University of Victoria.

Watch the video

Lifetime Achievement

Lifetime Achievement is awarded to a seasoned individual who has made significant and lasting positive change in the lives of vulnerable children and youth in B.C. This individual is dedicated to raising public awareness around issues that affect vulnerable children and youth, and is both advocate and leader-- a true Champion for Children and Youth.

Congratulations award winner Dr. Jean Moore.


Photo from the left: award winner Dr. Jean Moore and Representative Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond.

Watch the video